Embryonic Disk

  1. Home
  2. Anatomy
  3. Female Reproductive System
  4. Female Reproductive Organs of the Lower Torso
  5. >
  6. Fertilization and Pregnancy
  7. >
  8. Embryonic Disk

The embryonic disc (or embryonic disk) results from the flattening of the embryoblast. It consists of two layers; an upper ectoderm which is closer to the amniotic cavity, and a lower endoderm which is near the blastocyst cavity. A short time later, a third layer called the mesoderm forms between the endoderm and ectoderm. These three layers are called the primary germ layers.